SSB for Indian Army | Service Related Information | SSB Interview

Indian army has approximately 13 lakh men and women in its rank but still there is a shortage of officers and that shortage is estimated to be around 14000.
The President of India is considered to be the supreme commander of the Indian army.
Army headquarter, New Delhi is directed by the chief of army staff,
Vice chief, two deputy chief, a military secretary, an adjutant general,
The quartermaster general, the master of ordnance and the engineer in chief.
The Indian Army has seven divisions:
  • Northern Command (Udhampur)
  • Central Command (Lucknow)
  • Western Command (Chandimandir)
  • Eastern Command (Kolkata)
  • Southern Command ( Pune)
  • South Western Command (Jaipur)
  • Training Command (Shimla)
The Indian army is headed as follows:
  • Lieutenant general (Corps)
  • Major general (Divisions)
  • Brigadier (Brigades)
  • Colonel (Battalions)

The Indian Army is organized into two parts:
  • Arms
  • Services
The Twelve Corps that is divided into seven divisions:
  • Armoured Divisions.
  • Infantry Divisions.
  • Mountain Infantry Brigades.
  • Infantry Divisions.
  • Independent Infantry.
  • Artillery Brigades.
  • Battalions.


  • Indian infantry regiments.
  • Armored corps regiments.
  • Corps of signals.
  • Mechanized infantry.
  • Indian army aviation corps.
  • Corps of army air defense.
  • Corps of engineers.
  • Regiment of artillery.


  • Remount and veterinary corps.
  • Army education corps.
  • Army postal service corps.
  • Army medical corps.
  • Army dental corps.
  • Army ordnance corps.
  • Army service corps.
  • Corps of military police.
  • Military farm service.
  • Pioneer corps.
  • Corps of electronics and mechanical engineers.
  • Intelligence corps.
  • Military nursing service.
  • Judge advocate general’s department.

Indian Army formation :


Each division is headed by the general officer commanding (GOC)  generally a Major general.
 A division in the Indian army is an intermediate between a corp and brigade.
the division in the Indian army is considered to be the largest striking force in the army.
It consists of around 15000 combat troops and 8000 support.
Currently, the Indian army has got 37 divisions including 4 rapid action divisions, 18 infantry divisions, 10 mountain divisions, 3 armored divisions, and 2 artillery division.


Each division composes of several brigades, which means groups of brigades constitute to form a Division.
Generally, a brigade consists of around 3000 combat troops with supporting elements.
A brigade is generally headed by a brigadier equivalent to a brigadier general in some armies.
An infantry brigade usually has three infantry battalions along with various support arms and services.
In some Indian army divisions, the Indian army also has 5 are independent armored brigades, 15 independent artillery brigades, 7 independent infantry brigades, 1 independent parachute brigade, 3 independent air defense brigades, 2 independent air defense groups, and 4 independent engineers brigades.
The independent brigades are generally operated under the corps commander (GOC).


Generally, a battalion is commanded by the Colonel and the infantry is the main fighting unit of the battalion. Generally, a battalion consists of around 900 mm combat personnel.


A company consists of around 120 soldiers and is generally headed by a Major, field major, or a Captian.


An intermediate between company and section, a Platoon is headed by a lieutenant depending on the availability of a commissioned officer junior commissioned officer with the rank of subedar on Naib-subedar can also lead a Platoon. A Platoon has a strength of around 32 troops.


The section is considered to be the smallest unit and it consists of around 10 personnel. Usually commanded by a non commissioned officer or havildar major also known as Tukri.

Infantry Regiments

The Indian army has its organizational structure inherited from the British army.
Indian army infantry regiments primary responsibility to provide battalions and well-trained personnel in the field of the command.
Generally, different battalions of the same regiments are generally found to be spread across brigades, divisions, corps, and commands.
Some infantry regiments are based on geographical locations Sachin Assam rifles, Punjab Regiment, etc.
Where are some infantry regiments are based on the ethnicity of a place such as Gorkha Regiment, Jat Regiment, and Sikh Regiment.
Irrespective of the ethnic collection of geography and ethnic collection of personnel in different regiments, the Indian army is a true example of an indiscriminate group of an army.
The Indian army doesn’t entertain any kind of discrimination based on caste, ethnic groups, language, or geographical in nature. The Indian army stands as a perfect example of unity in diversity as the Indian army has got people all from all over the country and is considered to be the most diverse communal army.
Just like the British army, the troops enlisted within a regiment are generally supposed to spend their entire career within the regiment with immense loyalty and great pride.
The Indian Army Regiments are:
  1. Brigade of guards.
  2. The parachute regiment.
  3. Mechanized infantry regiment.
  4. Punjab regiment.
  5. Madras regiment.
  6. The Grenadiers.
  7. Maratha light infantry.
  8. Rajputana rifles.
  9. Rajput regiment.
  10. Jat regiment.
  11. Sikh regiment.
  12. Dogra regiment.
  13. Garhwal rifles.
  14. Kumaon regiment.
  15. Assam regiment.
  16. Bihar regiment.
  17. Mahar regiment.
  18. Jammu and Kashmir Rifles.
  19. Jammu and Kashmir light infantry.
  20. Naga regiment.
  21. 1 Gorkha Rifles.
  22. 3 Gorkha Rifles.
  23. 4 Gorkha Rifles.
  24. 5 Gorkha Rifles.
  25. 8 Gorkha Rifles.
  26. 9 Gorkha Rifles.
  27. 11 Gorkha Rifles.
  28. Ladakh scouts.
  29. Arunachal scouts.
  30. Sikkim scouts.
  31. Mizo regiment.
  32. Meghalaya regiment.
  33. Manipur regiment.
Did you notice that there are seven Gorkha rifles! yes, Gorkha rifles has got such a huge contribution over to our Indian army.
The 1 Gorkha Rifles is also known as the Malaun Regiment.
The 5 Gorkha Rifles is also Known as the Frontier Force.

Artillery Regiment

The Artillery regiment regiments are generally responsible for the armed guns such bofors, cannons. The artillery regiment in Indian army was established in 1935.

Armoured Regiments

Indian army forces have around 97 armored regiments.
  • 1st Skinner Horse
  • 2nd Lancer
  • 3rd Cavalry
  • 4th Hodsons Horse
  • 7th Light Cavalry
  • 8th Light Cavalry
  • 9th Deccan Horse
  • 14th Scinde Horse 
  • 17th Poona Horse
  • 15th Lancers
  • 16th Light Cavalry
  • 18th Cavalry 
  • 20th Lancer
  • Central India Horse